Anything I put before God is an Idol

So as I am sitting on the beach reading my bible, a worship song plays, it’s called Clear the Stage by Jimmy Nedham. I thought I would share this song because its a beautiful reminder of how God isn’t just a song to be worship, God is your life and you should be investing in all of it not just worship music. There is a line in the song that says “anything I put before my God is an Idol, anything I love with all my heart is an idol” this is so convicting in the best way. It’s so revealing that I put so many things in front of God and that I shouldn’t be loving anything more than God. I strongly encourage you to listen to the Song it’s so beautiful written about how we are to worship and LOVE our God just as he loves us. 

 

These verses literally bring tears to my eyes because God reminds  us that his love is so much greater but we still run after idols:

All who fashion idols are nothing, and the things they delight in do not profit. Their witnesses neither see nor know, that they may be put to shame. Who fashions a god or casts an idol that is profitable for nothing? Behold, all his companions shall be put to shame, and the craftsmen are only human. Let them all assemble, let them stand forth. They shall be terrified; they shall be put to shame together. The ironsmith takes a cutting tool and works it over the coals. He fashions it with hammers and works it with his strong arm. He becomes hungry, and his strength fails; he drinks no water and is faint. The carpenter stretches a line; he marks it out with a pencil. He shapes it with planes and marks it with a compass. He shapes it into the figure of a man, with the beauty of a man, to dwell in a house. …
Isaiah 44:9-20

Do not turn to idols or make for yourselves any gods of cast metal: I am the Lord your God.
Leviticus 19:4 

This is the link to the video:
 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6smGew7dGto

In Christ,
Molly

One thought on “Anything I put before God is an Idol

  1. Pingback: GOD WANTS YOU TO BE AN ENCOURAGER | VINE AND BRANCH WORLD MINISTRIES.COM

Leave a Reply

